Update concerning the 2014 Nigerian Blog Awards

Thank you for your patience in waiting for news concerning the 2014 Nigerian Blog Awards. It was our intent to announce the 2014 Nigerian Blog Awards winners during a live event in Lagos; however it is not financially feasible this year. Winners will be announced online as we have done since 2010, and we still intend to hold live Nigerian Blog Awards events in the future.

In response to the feedback we’ve received, here are some of the changes for the 2014 Nigerian Blog Awards:

  • Only one winner will be announced per category.
  • 200 randomly-selected individuals who submit a nomination will be invited to narrow down the finalists in 10 random categories, each of which will contain the blogs that received the most nominations in that category.
  • Winners will receive a tangible recognition of their achievement.

More information will be provided in the coming weeks, but the most important information to to note is that nominations for the 2014 Nigerian Blog Awards will open on Monday, January 5, 2015 and the schedule for the Awards will be posted on our blog and emailed to those who have subscribed to receive emails before that time.

If you’re a blogger who intends to contend for an Award, keep blogging, with a focus on creating unique and useful content, and avoid plagiarism (copying other people’s work). We continue to strive to recognize only those creating quality content.

If you have any questions, please let us know in the comments below. You may also reach us on Facebook or Twitter.


  1. Thanks.

  2. Waiting in anticipation

  3. I can’t wait for it. I thought there will be no award for 2014.

  4. Thanks for the update. We are waiting