1. What is a blog?

    For the purposes of the Nigerian Blog Awards, a blog is a website that contains posts (articles, entries) displayed in reverse chronological order. The posts can be words, images, or both. Readers should be able to interact with the blog by leaving comments or using a rating system.

  2. How do I get my blog listed on this website?

    First, make sure your blog meets the definition above. Next, consider the following questions:

    • Is the blog written by a Nigerian OR does it have a primary focus on Nigeria?
    • Has the blog been updated in the last two months?
    • Is the blog open to be read by the public (no private blogs)?
    • Is the blog updated by six or fewer people?

    If you answer yes to all the above, then please LIST YOUR BLOG.

    Note: listing your blog does not submit it for nomination in the Awards. Please use the nomination form for that purpose.

  3. Why is [insert name of blog] not listed on this site, even though it meets the criteria?
    The list of Nigerian blogs on this site is not exhaustive. Efforts have been made to provide as complete a list as possible, but we recognize that not all Nigerian blogs are listed. If you see a missing blog, kindly direct the blog’s owner to our LIST YOUR BLOG form.
  4. How do the Awards work?
    The Awards are tweaked each year and the details of the 2013 Awards are now available.
  5. How are nominees selected?
    During the nomination period, everyone is invited to use the nomination form to identify worthy blogs in each of the 29 available categories. A shortlist of the 10 blogs that receive the highest numbers of nominations in each category (15 blogs for the category Nigerian Blog of the Year) is created, and each blog is visited to ensure it meets the eligibility criteria for a Nigerian Blog Award. If any of these criteria are not met for a blog that received a large number of nominations, a blog receiving fewer nominations will be considered in its place. In this way, the shortlist is trimmed down to five (5) nominees in each category (and 10 in the category Nigerian Blog of the Year). These blogs are announced as the official nominees.
  6. How are the winners determined?
    As of 2012, winners of both the Judges’ Choice and Popular Vote are announced. A small panel of judges made up of past and current bloggers, blog readers, and writers is asked to review the nominated blogs and select a winner in each category. The nominees that receive the majority of votes from the judges are announced as the Judges’ Choice. The popular vote is determined by the nominees that receive the largest number of public votes.

    2013 is the last year that two winners will be announced for each category—starting in 2014, only one winner per category will be announced, and the winning blog will be determined by a combination of public and judges’ input.